Nominations for election to the WasteMINZ Board are now open and close Friday 2 September 2016.

The WasteMINZ Board is elected by our members to provide governance for WasteMINZ, as well as monitoring the organisation’s performance.  The Board must also set the strategic direction, and importantly, protect the integrity of the organisation by ensuring that robust systems and processes are in place and adhered to.

The Board consists of six WasteMINZ financial members who are elected for a term of two years. Three of the six elected Board members complete their two-year terms at alternate Annual General Meetings.

This year the following board members will have completed their two-year term:

  • Darren Patterson, Patterson Environmental (Chair)
  • Simonne Eldridge, Tonkin + Taylor (Deputy Chair)
  • Grahame Christian, Smart Environmental

All three are eligible to re-stand. The remaining three Board members John Dragicevich (Auckland Council), Wayne Plummer (EnviroNZ) and Dominic Salmon (Hastings District Council) complete their two year term of office in October 2017.

Effective board members: Being an effective board member requires a significant time commitment; therefore it is essential that prospective board members have the time available to dedicate to WasteMINZ work.  This will usually involve four board meetings a year – together with other WasteMINZ business which is generally conducted by electronic means.

Overall a minimum commitment equivalent to one day every two months may be required. It should be noted that WasteMINZ Board members volunteer their time.

Nomination Process: Any financial member may nominate any other financial member(s) for election to the Board; membership for both parties must be fully paid for the current year. Nominations must be received by WasteMINZ no later than 5pm Friday 2 September 2016.

Board nominations are to be submitted electronically by clicking here.

Voting: Voting will be via electronic means and information will be sent to the primary contact of each financial member no later than Monday 19 September 2016. Voting closes at 5pm on Friday 7 October 2016. 

Annual General Meeting: The elected Board members will be announced at the WasteMINZ Annual General Meeting which will be held on Tuesday 18 October 2016 at the WasteMINZ Conference in Wellington.

Play your part: The election of Board members is extremely important, and I urge you to carefully consider the attributes of any individual you are nominating and give thought to how they would contribute toward the positive development of WasteMINZ.  Ultimately, the continued success of our organisation will depend on the skills and views of the Board elected by our membership.