The WasteMINZ Board is elected by our members to provide governance for WasteMINZ, as well as monitoring the organisation’s performance. The Board must also set the strategic direction, and importantly, protect the integrity of the organisation by ensuring that robust systems and processes are in place and adhered to.

The Board consists of six WasteMINZ financial members who are elected for a term of two years. Three of the six elected Board members complete their two-year terms at alternate Annual General Meetings.

This year the following board members will have completed their two-year term:

  • Parul Sood – Auckland Council
  • Darren Patterson – Patterson Environmental 
  • Simonne Eldridge – Tonkin + Taylor 

The remaining three Board members, Wayne Plummer, Alice Grace and Alec McNeil complete their two-year term of office in 2021.

Effective board members: Being an effective board member requires a significant time commitment; therefore it is essential that prospective board members have the time available to dedicate to WasteMINZ work. This will usually involve four board meetings a year – together with other WasteMINZ business which is conducted by electronic means.

Overall a minimum commitment equivalent to one day every two months may be required. It should be noted that WasteMINZ Board members volunteer their time.

Voting: Voting will be via electronic means and information will be sent to the primary contact of each financial member no later than Tuesday 22 September 2020. Voting closes at 5 pm on Friday 9 October 2020.

View the nominees who are standing for the WasteMINZ Board in 2020 here

Annual General Meeting: The elected Board members will be announced at the WasteMINZ Annual General Meeting which will be held on Monday 19 October 2020.

Play your part: The election of Board members is extremely important, and you are urged to carefully consider the attributes of any individual you are nominating and give thought to how they would contribute toward the positive development of WasteMINZ. Ultimately, the continued success of our organisation will depend on the skills and views of the Board elected by our membership.

If you have any questions regarding the above process, please do not hesitate to contact Janine Brinsdon – WasteMINZ Chief Executive